Here’s to the First Day of School

Posted on September 3, 2012

0


girls walking to schoolI love the first day of school. I love the smell of new notebooks, the sharpness of new pencils and the brightness of new marker. As a student, I couldn’t wait to get to school, find my friends, set up my locker and figure out my classes. When I became a mom, and had kids old enough to go to school, I still got caught up in my daughters’ excitement over new books, new clothes and new backpacks.

Tomorrow is the first day of school for my girls. And while I am still caught up in their excitement, it’s with a bit of sadness as well. For me, it’s the first day of school that marks the passing of their years, more so than their birthdays. It signifies another year closer to full independence. A time when they will move away from me and move on.

My eldest daughter is starting seventh grade. She’s been texting her friends non-stop about classes, teachers, friends and boys. Every time I look at her these days, she grows closer to the person she will be and away from the child she was. She is now almost as tall as me, with an ease and grace that I never had as a girl. She is smart, talented, kind and generous. And it’s getting harder and harder to send her off to school, knowing that each day she’s a little closer to going away to university.

My youngest daughter is my sunshine. Now a fifth grader, she is nurturing, funny, friendly and awesome with younger children. She’s looking forward to being a lunch monitor again and wants to be a teacher when she’s older. I remember her first day of school. She barely looked back, eager to join her friends in the playground. I think it will be the same tomorrow.

I still look forward to the first day of school but it’s now tinged with a bit of sadness too. As my girls grow, the years are going faster and faster and there’s not much I can do to slow them down. I guess I just have to go with the flow.

So here’s to all the mom’s sending their babies off to school this fall, whether it’s to kindergarten or university. Remember to hug a bit longer tomorrow, give an extra kiss and tuck a note into their lunches. It won’t be long before they’re off for good.

Posted in: stuff