My New Project

Posted on August 10, 2012

0


My name is Ali and this is my online journal. I’m starting it to keep a record of my writing in one spot. I’ll also keep it as a record of the things I feel like writing about. I often find myself thinking of how I’d love to write about something but the something doesn’t fit into the mold of any of my other blogs. So, this blog will be just for myself, my family and friends. And anyone else who wants to eavesdrop.

I was born and raised in Ottawa. I studied psychology at McGill and then did a Master’s at Pepperdine in Los Angeles. I came home to Ottawa when I finished school and started a psychological practice. I practiced for a very long time and then I felt like I needed more.  I have always loved to read and that grew into a love of writing. For the longest time I felt like I had a book inside of me.  Life got in the way, however, and it never really made its way out.  Then I stumbled onto blogging.

Blogging fit my life. I could say as much or as little as I wanted and I could write about any topic I wanted.  So now, when I want to ponder something, I write about it.

I’m still working as a psychotherapist and I have combined my love of writing with psychology over at Therapy Stew.  As the mom of two competitive dancers, I’ve started an online Dancewear Consignment boutique called Second Act Consignment Dancewear.  I blog a lot over there too.

I think that our identities are made up of a million little stories, a personal collection of experiences that are combined  to create the people we are and the people we will become. This is a collection of a few of my stories.

 

 

Posted in: About Me